How do I cancel or downgrade my Cloudflare account?

Important: If you are experiencing issues with your website, we recommend that you temporarily deactivate CloudFlare first.

Prior to canceling your account, we recommend contacting Cloudfare Support to assist with troubleshooting any issues you might be experiencing. Many times, issues can be easily addressed by making minor changes to your account settings.

Upgrading/Downgrading a website to another subscription

If you have a paid subscription for a website and wish to downgrade to another paid subscription, follow these steps:

  1. Log into Cloudflare.
  2. Select the website you wish to downgrade (i.e. example.com) from your list of websites.
  3. In the Overview app under Subscription, click Change plan.
  4. Select the plan you wish to downgrade to and then click Next step.
  5. Click Next step to confirm the change.

OR

  1. Log into Cloudflare.
  2. In the Subscriptions tab under My Settings (found under your user name at the upper right hand corner of the screen), click Edit.
  3. Select the plan for the website you wish to upgrade/downgrade to and then click Save Changes
  4. Click Make Payment to confirm the change.

 

Page Rules: If the lower plan you are downgrading to comes with fewer Page Rules than you currently have in use (both Page Rules that are paused and active count towards Page Rules that are in use), Cloudflare will first prompt you to visit the Page Rules app to delete those Page Rules. After you delete those Page Rules, you can return to continue downgrading your plan. 

Certificates: You may experience a 24 hour gap in SSL encryption for your website traffic while you are transferred to a new SSL certificate.


Dedicated SSL Certificates: You can choose to upgrade your existing Universal SSL Certificate to a Dedicated SSL Certificate or a Dedicated SSL Certificate with Custom Hostnames. To cancel an existing dedicated certificate, click here.

 

Note: There are no refunds if you decide to downgrade a website. Please refer to our billing policy for more information.

Downgrading a website to Free

If you have a paid subscription for a website and wish to downgrade to Free, follow these steps:

  1. Log into Cloudflare.
  2. Select the website you wish to downgrade (i.e. example.com) from your list of websites.
  3. In the Overview app under Subscription, click Change plan.
  4. Select Free and then click Next step.
  5. Click Next step to confirm the change.

If the lower plan you are downgrading to comes with fewer Page Rules than you currently have in use (both Page Rules that are paused and active count towards Page Rules that are in use), Cloudflare will first prompt you to visit the Page Rules app to delete those Page Rules. After you delete those Page Rules, you can return to continue downgrading your plan.

 

Note: There are no refunds if you decide to downgrade a website. Please refer to our billing policy for more information.

Also, you may experience a 24 hour gap in SSL encryption for your website traffic while you are transferred to a new SSL certificate.

When downgrading to Free, you lose the remaining days until the end of your billing cycle.

Canceling your account

If you signed up through Cloudflare's website:

  1. Update your name servers so you no longer point at the Cloudflare assigned name servers, you can do this by logging into your registrar's website.
  2. Allow up to 24 hours for the name servers update to completely propagate.
  3. Log into Cloudflare.
  4. Select the website you wish to delete from your list of websites.
  5. In the Overview app under Status, click the Advanced link to display the advanced settings.
  6. Click Delete.
  7. Click Delete to proceed with deleting the domain.
  8. Repeat steps 4-7 for each website.
  9. Click your username in the top of the page and then click My Settings.
  10. Click Billing.
  11. Click the Delete link to remove your credit card information.
  12. Create a support ticket asking for your account to be deleted. Once deleted, the email used cannot be used again at Cloudflare.

Note: You will only be able to remove the credit card information if you have no active subscriptions for Cloudflare apps or paid Cloudflare plans. You can manage these subscriptions on the Billing History page.

There are no refunds if you decide to cancel your account. Please refer to our billing policy for more information.

If you signed up through a Cloudflare Hosting Partner:

  1. Log into Cloudflare.
  2. Next to your website, click the gear icon and then click DNS settings.
  3. Click Disconnect Cloudflare.
  4. Repeat steps 2-3 for each website.
Still not finding what you need?

The Cloudflare team is here to help. 95% of questions can be answered using the search tool, but if you can’t find what you need, submit a support request.

Powered by Zendesk